Mychoice & Control



What is NDIS?

The National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) gives people with disability choice and control over the supports they receive. MyChoice and Control Disability Care Services is a Registered National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) provider, we have an in-depth understanding of how NDIS works and our knowledgeable and friendly staff are available to assist you to make your journey smoother. We have listed some of the frequently asked questions, if you have any other questions, please get in touch with us.



As a Participant

NDIS Journey

The National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) has been developed to improve choice and create better outcomes for people with a disability. NDIS funds any goal that you set for yourself (those that NDIS considers reasonable and fair of course) and you are free to choose any NDIS service provider you want. You can learn more about the NDIS on the official federal government NDIS website.

The National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIA) is a federally appointed organisation that manages the administration of all NDIS funding. They are funded by the Department of Social Services (DSS).

The NDIS provides ongoing funding for all ‘reasonable and necessary’ disability equipment, care and support services. Generally, the supports and services provided to you assist you to achieve your goals and live as independently as possible. Services also include community participation and assistance with gainful employment.

  • The NDIS does not provide funding for support if it is:
  • Not related to your disability
  • Duplicate of another support.
  • Is better addressed by an alternative support option.
  • Is related to daily living expenses that are not related to your disability.

If you are over the age of 65 years, you will not be eligible to participate in the NDIS. You might be eligible for funding by the Aged Care System, instead.

The NDIA is tasked with assessment of your eligibility to participate in the NDIS. The following are the eligibility criteria: 

  • Be under the age of 65 years of age 
  • Be a resident of Australia (Australian citizen, or Permanent Visa Holder or a New Zealand citizen who holds a Protected Special Category Visa) 
  • Have a condition or an impairment that is permanent and prevents you from participating in everyday activities.
Scroll to Top